The ECSS handbook will be posted shortly


The CLIVAR Early Career Scientists (ECS) Symposium, a 2.5-day programme, is designed by and for ECS.  It is a unique opportunity for young scientists with outstanding research potential to interact, to learn from their peers and senior scientists what is required to better understand aspects of the climate system and address research challenges of societal relevance, and to build lasting relationships and collaborations. Over 130 participants from 33 countries will participate in the ECSS.


The CLIVAR ECS Symposium is hosted by First Institute of Oceanography (FIO), State Oceanic Administration (SOA), China.


Contact information

All communications regarding the Symposium should be directed to:

Ms. Jing Li                                                                           Ms. Xiaotong Zhu (Shirley)

Staff Scientist                                                                     Programme Assistant

International CLIVAR Project Office                         First Institute of Oceanography

E-mail:                                                E-mail:


The registration for ECSS participants to attend the Symposium and the CLIVAR Open Science Conference will take place on Sunday 18th September from 8:00 to 9:00 am on the 6th Floor of FIO New Admin Building on 18th September, 2016.

 Important NOTE: Your name badge is the only access to the ECS meetings, lunch and banquet as well as to OSC at QNLM (Sep. 19) and at Hyatt (Sep. 20 - 23). Please wear your badge at all times.

Meeting Venue

FIO is located at No.6 Xianxialing Rd., Laoshan District in Qingdao, Shandong Province. Plenary session will take place in Room 601, 6th Floor, FIO New Admin Building. Several other meeting rooms will be used for the working group sessions.

ECS Symposium Programme

Day 1 (18 September 2016)

 08:00-09:00 – Registration at FIO

09:00-09:30 – Opening Session

  • FIO/SOA representative
  • Wenjie Dong on behalf of APN
  • Noel Baker

 09:30-10:00 – Introduction to the OSC (Detlef Stammer)

10:00-10:30 – Coffee break

10:30-11:15 – Plenary session: “CLIVAR in the context of Major Climate Programs” (Martin Visbeck, Germany)

 11:15-12:30 – Introduction to OSC Daily Themes

  • Ocean’s Role in the Climate System (Pedro Monteiro, South Africa)
  • Climate Variability and Predictability (Pascale Braconnot, France)
  • Understanding Ocean and Climate Processes (Matthew England, Australia)
  • The Ocean in a Warmer World (Eric Guilyardi, France)
  • Climate Information and Sustainable Development (Martin Visbeck, Germany)

12:30-14:00 – Lunch

14:00-15:30 – Meet and greet / Introductory to working group sessions

15:30-16:00 – Coffee break

16:00-17:30 – Working group sessions (continued)

17:30 – End of Day


Day 2 (24 September 2016)

 08:30 – Arrival at FIO

09:00-10:00 – Plenary session: CLIVAR Science Frontiers

10:00-10:30 – Coffee break

10:30-12:30 – Working group sessions

12:30-14:00 – Lunch

14:00-15:00 – Working group sessions – preparation of summary presentations

15:00-15:30 – Coffee break

15:30-17:30 – Plenary session: Working group presentations and summary

17:30 – End of Day

18:30 – ECS Banquet


Day 3 (25 September 2016)

 08:30 – Arrival at FIO

09:00-10:00 – OSC science topics panel session: interactive discussion with senior scientists

10:00-10:30hr – Coffee break

10:30-11:15 – From research to operational – the development of an ocean and climate prediction system (Fangli Qiao - FIO)

11:15-12:15 – YESS (Young Earth System Scientists) and the foundation of ECS organizations in climate science (Gaby Langendijk – WCRP)

12:15-12:30 – Closing session (Annalisa Bracco)


ECS Symposium Organising Committee

 Early Career Scientists    
 Noel Baker (Chair) Germany  
 Victor Dike China IAP
 Jonathan Durgadoo Germany GEOMAR
 Bolan Gan China OUC
 Sarah Kang Rep. of Korea UNIST
 Debashis Nath China IAP
 Sarah Perkins-Kirkpatrick  Australia University New South Wales 
 Ariane dos Santos Brazil             CPTEC                                    
 Fiona Tummon Switzerland SPARC IPO
 Yajuan Song 
China  SOA FIO
OSC SOC Members
 Annalisa Bracco USA Georgia Institute of Technology
 Pascale Braconnot France  LSCE/ IPSL
 Stephen Griffies USA  NOAA/GFDL 
 Virginie Guemas Spain CNRM, IC3
 Ed Hawkins UK               University of Reading
 Carlos Moffat USA  University of Delaware
 James Renwick New Zealand Victoria University 
 Tianjun Zhou China IAP
 Fangli Qiao
 Local Organizing Committee
 Yafeng Yang
 Nico Caltabiano UK ICPO
 Jing Li
China ICPO
 Wenjun Lv

Copyright © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.